YoGa Interrupted

Image courtesy of "PinkBlue"http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of “PinkBlue”http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What would you do if your Yoga journey (I am talking about the asana practice on the mat) was disrupted by an accident or other health issue?

That’s what happened to me a few weeks ago and I am still coming to terms with it. A long standing spine issue flared up and forced me to have a break from all twists, back- and forward-bends.

It is not an easy journey and I notice how irritable and frustrated I am. My regular asana practice was such an important part of my life and also helped me cope with unpleasant emotions, stress and tension. Not to mention the endorphins that would be released into my bloodstream, greatly enhancing my mood.

I have good moments as well, where I am grateful that I can still walk, but often frustration creeps back in and I just want for things to go back to the way they were. I guess some of you will remind me of practising yoga OFF the mat. That the asanas are just a very small part in the overall Yoga practice. Yes, there are the other limbs of Yoga like the yamas (how you treat others), the niyamas (how you treat yourself), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (withdrawl of senses), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (state of ecstasy).

I know there is learning in every experience but at the moment I am just riding the roller coaster of emotions. Frustration. Sadness/Depression. Impatience. Fear.

What I am grateful for today:

  • That I can walk
  • My pain has lessened in the past few weeks
  • That I have faith I will practice Yoga asanas again
Leave a Reply

