Staying with WHAT IS – Day 4

I noticed how I was resisting going to the mat today. I thought it’s Sunday, I don’t really feel like it I should have a day off.

A day off from what? Being with myself and being with WHAT IS?

Exactly that is the practice! Which takes discipline. I know discipline might have a bad connotation but think about it as self-respect.

“Do I respect myself enough to just spend 10-15 minutes each morning attending to SELF?”

And that means going to the mat, NO MATTER WHAT!

It doesn’t mean a rigorous workout. No. Just spending those 15 minutes to be with whatever comes up. And if its FEAR, ANGER, SADNESS, FRUSTRATION, or RESISTANCE, that is OK.

That’s why I took myself to the mat despite my reluctance. I was aware of a tendency to rush my asanas just to get it over and done with. So I slowed it right down, holding the poses a bit longer and really staying with my breath. I noticed how my balance was off, probably due to my underlying impatience to get on to other things so just wanting to finish as quickly as possible.

Despite all this reluctance to practise I did enjoy my sitting meditation and breathwork at the end and also the feeling of groundedness after. So am I glad I did it? Definitely! THANK YOU!

What I am grateful for today:

  • For my practise today
  • Having had a good night’s sleep
  • My hard to shake cold finally eases off
  • Less anxiety and tension in my body today
  • For the time and space to engage in the process of being with WHAT IS
Leave a Reply

